Assessment criteria and the seven-grade scale

The assessment of the scientific quality of an application is made using four quality components, known as basic criteria. Several components are used in order to arrive at a comprehensive assessment.

The quality components are:

On a seven-grade scale:

  • Novelty and originality
  • Scientific quality of the proposed research
  • Merits of the applicant(s)  

On a three-grade scale:

  • Feasibilty

The various component criteria being used in the assessment should be weighed together to a global grade (1—7), which reflects the overall assessment of the scientific quality of the application by the evaluation panel.

Additional criteria may also be relevant for certain applications.

The seven-grade scale

7 Outstanding

Exceptionally strong application with negligible weaknesses

6 Excellent

Very strong application with negligible weaknesses

5 Very good to excellent

Very strong application with minor weaknesses

4 Very good

Strong application with minor weaknesses

3 Good

Some strengths, but also moderate weaknesses  

2 Weak

A few strengths, but also a few major weakness or several minor weaknesses

1 Poor

Very few strengths and numerous major weaknesses

The three-grade scale used for Feasibility:

3 Feasible

2 Partly feasible

1 Not feasible  

Share |
Updated: 2017-05-15