Anniversary conference – ERC 10 years

Please note that a personal invitation is necessary to notify participation at this event. Please respond by 28 April.

  • Date: 17 May 2017
  • Time: 13.00–17.00, with reception to follow
  • Place: Oscars Theatre, Kungsgatan 63, Stockholm
  • Arranger: The Swedish Research Council, in collaboration with the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation and Young Academy of Sweden

A decade ago, the EU Commission established a European Research Council (ERC), for the purpose of promoting European basic research of the highest scientific quality and supporting leading edge research within all fields of study. Financing from the ERC is now one of the highest accolades available to researchers in Europe. Since it was founded, around 7 000 researchers have received grants from the ERC, of which around 250 from Sweden.

As the ERC is now celebrating its 10th anniversary, a half-day conference is being arranged at the Oscars Theatre in Stockholm.




Professor Sven Stafström, Director-General, Swedish Research Council


Goals and visions for Swedish research

Mrs Helene Hellmark Knutsson, Minister for Higher Education and Research


ERC in the past, present and future

Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, President, European Research Council (ERC)


Outcomes of ERC-funded research

Dr Anna Lönnroth Sjödén, Head of Unit (Life Sciences), ERC Executive Agency


The ERC’s impact on research and careers – Dialogue with Swedish grantees

Dejan Kostic, Professor of Internetworking, KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Johan Elf, Professor of Physical Biology, Uppsala University

Carolina Wählby, Professor of Quantitative Microscopy, Uppsala University

Torsten Persson, Professor of Economics, Stockholm University

Chair: Camilla Svensson, Young Academy of Sweden


Coffee break


Panel discussion: How to further strengthen Sweden as a research nation?

Professor Astrid Söderberg Widding, Vice-Chancellor of Stockholm University

Professor Anne L'Huillier, Lund Attosecond Science Center (LASC), Lund University

Professor Klaus Bock, ERC Vice-President

Chair: Göran Sandberg, Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation


Research presentations

Anders Johansen, Professor of Astronomy, Lund University

Staffan I. Lindberg, Professor of Political Science, University of Gothenburg

Magda Bienko, Assistant Professor of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, Karolinska Institutet

Eva Hemmungs Wirtén, Professor of Mediated Culture, Linköping University


Music performance

Presentation of the 2016 ERC Grantees


Final remarks

Sven Stafström, Director-General, Swedish Research Council




Contact at the Swedish Research Council

Gergana Angelova Hamberg, Primary NCP for ERC and Senior Research officer, Swedish Research Council

Dela |

Senast uppdaterad: 2017-04-06